Socially Awkward… | RAMBLINGS

I never thought that I would be the odd one out in the room. When I was younger, I was actually quite popular without trying. I always felt like I belonged in a certain group. Somewhere along the line though, things changed.

I was at my work’s  team (early!) Christmas meal. We have a lot of different types of people in the team. The popular men and women who all meet up together outside of work, go clubbing and drinking together. Then there are the more quieter crowd.

As I was sitting at the table, watching everyone talk to each other, I realised I had pretty much been quiet the whole night. I felt awkward whenever someone did speak to me and you could tell that the conversation always ended on an awkward note!

It was only then that I realised that somewhere along the way I became socially awkward. I’m now the person that you will only sit next to if there is no one else available. I get asked to take all the group photos.

It doesn’t matter so much when I’m at home, with the husband and E. Even with my own family or my husbands family, I feel at ease. Maybe I’m just older now and priorities have changed!

Until next time………….

Untitled

Leave a Reply

