Happy New Year!

Every year since I can remember, my new year celebrations are literally sitting on the sofa with my family, watching the fireworks display on TV.

Last year I wanted to do something different and actually go to see the fireworks in London. No matter how hard I tried, I was unable to get tickets.

This year, I was very prepared and purchased tickets way in advance, so off we went! It is COMPLETELY different to how you see it on TV. We had to be at the gate entrance by 9pm – even though the fireworks obviously don’t start till midnight. In the end, it was a 2 hour car journey to London, a 10 minute walk to an overground train station, another 32 minute underground train Trafalgar Square, almost 2 hours walking and queuing up and finally 3 hours waiting in the freezing cold till midnight for the fireworks to start!!

It was quite a different atmosphere there, with music playing to keep the crowd warm and entertained. Everyone was huddled up, trying to keep warm. We ended up walking around to all the food stalls, just trying to pass the time! The actual fireworks display was beautiful. I only managed to get a one picture as I was so amazed by it, I just didn’t want to look away!

It was a brilliant night. I don’t think I would do it again but it was a great experience. Luckily we had booked a hotel for the night so we didn’t have to worry about getting home quickly.

20160101_000126

If you were thinking about going next year, here’s a list of ten things to remember!

  1. Take a blanket with you as it is VERY cold! Even if you are wrapped up warm, the floor will be wet or cold so a blanket always comes handy to sit on!
  2. Take some snacks. Food is pretty expensive in London, so taking your own is always a better and more healthier option.
  3. Wear comfortable clothes/shoes. I thought I did, but jeans are pretty uncomfortable when you are trying to sit down on a floor!
  4. Take some toilet roll. If you need the loo, they only have portable toilets with no tissue paper, so take your own!
  5. On the same note, take some anti-bacterial hand wash. No explanation needed.
  6. Take a small bag you can sling across your body. This is much easier and safer to take with you as opposed to a handbag.
  7. Plan your journey in advance! We knew how to get there – we just didn’t work out how to get back and since most of the tube stations were closed, it took over 2 hours to walk to the next open underground and get back to the hotel. Plan in advance!
  8. Go to the toilet before you leave! If you are like me and don’t like public toilets, use the toilet in the hotel before you go. Or, like my husband,if you think you don’t need it and then you do, it’s pretty hard to find even a portable loo once you are outside of the area.
  9. Take as many pictures as possible. I really wish I had done this! I was just so tired and cold that I didn’t bother. I kinda wish I had though.
  10. If you have a contactless bank card, use it. Instead of an Oyster Card, contactless is easier and apparently cheaper.

Until next time!

Untitled

Leave a Reply

