Top 10 Book Collections | TOP TEN

I have a ridiculous collection of books, slowly built up from when I was younger to now. I was looking through my books the other day and realised that I have a lot of collections, rather than single books. I thought I would do a little top 10 of my favourite book series!


 

10. Little Black Dress by Various Authors

10.Little Black Dress

Okay, I will admit, this is an insane collection. About 5 years ago I went through a Little Black Dress phase, where I kept buying books in the collection, in bulk. I think I have over 100 in total. LBD is basically romance books written by different authors. Some are ridiculous, some are really good but what I love about them, are that they are an easy read.


 

9. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

9.The Princess Diaries

This series is clearly for younger readers but I still love them and read them when I feel a bit nostalgic. The princess diaries is about a young girl called Mia, who lived an ordinary life with her mum and one-eyed cat. She has a normal crush on a boy at school and normal friends – that is until she finds out she is actually a princess to a small country called Genovia! I love Meg Cabot’s writing style. I love how awkward she makes it for Mia and all the obstacles that Mia has to go through with Princess duties AND normal life. I was sad when the series ended, but we have 2 movies to go along with it so it isn’t all bad!


 

8. Angel by Katie Price

8.Katie Price

Ok, I know that Katie Price doesn’t write her own novels and that she has a ghost writer, but I don’t care. I love this series and I love the stories. Angel is pretty much the same as Katie Price’s own life. A model (but I think she might be a singer in this, I can’t remember) who falls in love with a lead singer and everything that comes with being famous. Crystal is a character that comes in the first Angel book and then she had her own book written about her, which I love. It’s a good pick me up kind of book series!


 

7. Lord Of The Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

7.Lord Of The Rings

I don’t think my book collection would be complete without Lord Of The Rings. I  actually saw the movies before I read any of the books. Well, at school we did read The Hobbit, but I had never read any of the others. After watching the movies with my husband, I was too invested to ignore the books. I am so glad that I bought them – in fact, I think my husband actually purchased them for me – as they have so much more detail than the movies! If you live in a hole in the ground and have never heard of this series, Lord of The Rings follows the story of The Hobbit – Bilbo Baggins who goes on an adventure with dwarves to reclaim a lost kingdom. He finds a ring whilst he is there and it is ridiculously powerful. Lord of the Rings, is about Frodo Baggins (his nephew I think) who goes on a journey to destroy that ring! It’s crazy and so worth reading.


6. Fifty Shades by E L James

6.Fifty Shades

Regardless of what the majority of people say, I actually really enjoyed reading this trilogy. The sex scenes were not really interesting. What I loved was the story. Even though Christian Gray is very controlling, I loved him as a character. Christian Gray is a successful businessman who manages to interest Anna Steele, an ordinary girl. It’s a whole load of sex, graphic content but a love story regardless behind all the fluff.


 

5. A Series Of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

5.A Series Of Unfortunate Events

So many other authors have followed the writing style of this book series. Lemony Snicket writes about 3 children, whose parents perish in a fire and they are handed over to their uncle, Count Olaf. He isn’t what he seems and from book 1 to book 13, we follow the siblings as they try and get away from the evil Count and find out what actually happened to their parents. What I love is the way that Lemony writes. That isn’t even his name – in fact, he tells you in the books that he can’t say his name, and to not even read this book because of how sad it is! It just makes you want to read it even more. There are so many times that I felt sad and annoyed at what kept happening to the kids, but I kept going till the last book!


 

4. Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer

4.Twilight

The Twilight series will always be a favourite, regardless of my age. I saw the first movie before I read the book. The movies were awful – the books were amazing. Twilight follows Bella Swan, an ordinary girl who moves to Forks to live with her father. There, she find an extraordinary family and falls in love with their son, Edward. Turns out, he is a vampire. Throw in a best friend werewolf, a crazy love triangle and a baby – you have Twilight. It sounds stupid but I just love the story. Edward is my favourite – Bella is pretty annoying. You can tell by the spine of the books how much I have read them!


 

3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

3.The Hunger Games

I saw the first movie before I read the books. The movie was amazing and I felt that I had to read the books otherwise it wouldn’t be fair. I read it more than Twilight, even though Twilight came out first. Hunger Games takes place in a modern day Earth, where war has torn everyone apart – so much that now there are only 12 districts. The Capitol is in charge and to remind everyone how bad the war was, each district must give a boy and a girl to participate in The Hunger Games – literally a fight to the death. We follow Katniss Everdeen, who volunteers to go in place of her sister (who is picked to go in the next games) It is such a deep and powerful book and I love Katniss. I love everything she stands for and how she presents herself. The whole love triangle is a bit annoying, but I love the rest of it!


2. Malory Towers by Enid Blyton

2.Malory Towers

I have a soft spot in my heart for Enid Blyton. I grew up watching Noddy and The Magic Faraway Tree. I read the Famous Five and Secret Seven. My cousins then gave me the first 6 books (at the time) of Malory Towers, which is basically a boarding school for girls. We follow Darrell Rivers, a young outgoing girl who is going to boarding school for the first time. We see her make friends, get in trouble and grow into an adult. I love all the characters that come to the school – Alicia the prankster, Belinda the artist, Irene the scatty musician. The teachers are hilarious and even though it’s written in an old fashioned way (they play lacrosse, does anyone even play that anymore?) it’s still one of my favourites! Not long ago, they released another 6 books to the series which follows Felicity, Darrell’s younger sister, in her time at Malory Towers.


  1. Harry Potter by J K Rowling

1.Harry Potter

I don’t think there is a single person in the world who doesn’t know what Harry Potter is. Regardless of whether you have read/not read the books or seen/not seen the movies, you know who he is. Harry Potter is about an ordinary boy living with his Uncle, Aunty and fat annoying cousin. Harry’s parents died in a car crash when he was younger. He is unfairly treated and always finds weird things happen when he gets angry. Imagine his surprise when he finds out he is a wizard, who gets a letter to attend Hogwarts, a school for witchcraft and wizardry.  There is nothing I dislike. The characters are amazing, the writing style is brilliant, you relate to it even though its magic! I don’t think I will ever find a book series as amazing as this!

 

Until next time!

Untitled

Leave a Reply

