The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare | BOOK REVIEW

Oh my Angel. Wow. Initially, I was just going to review the first book in The Mortal Instruments series but I ended up reading all 6 in 2 weeks. I literally could not put the books down. In this review, I will talk about the series as a whole.

My sister had all the books and used to go on about it all the time, but for some reason I just didn’t get round to reading them. I was browsing on Netflix for something to watch and came across Shadow Hunters, the TV drama based on these books. Honestly, it was shocking. I thought the acting was awful but the story intrigued me. I then borrowed the first book from my sister, fell in love and now own and have read all 6 books.

The Mortal Instruments is a 6 book series about Clary Fray and the world she discovers. Clary thinks she is an ordinary girl, trying to get into art school and arguing with her mother. Out at a nightclub she finds herself in the company of some strange people and along the way finds out that she was never ordinary at all. Clary is a Shadowhunter. Part human, part angel – to protect the world from demons. When her mother goes missing, Clary’s world changes forever.

It’s quite a complicated world. The characters themselves are so intense and they have so many depths to them. You have Clary who is such a likeable character in my eyes. Normally in other books I hate the female lead, who always acts like she needs to be in the middle of everything. In this series, not every chapter is about her. Her love interest and male lead in the book is Jace. 100% my favourite character. He is all the male leads you have ever known, rolled into one. Then you have Simon, Clary’s best friend. I didn’t like him at first but started warming to him as I kept reading more about him. He’s a normal human being who gets pulled into all the drama. Then you have Isabelle, Alec and Max – Jace’s siblings. My favourite character overall has to be Magnus Bane. He is a warlock and also happens to be bi-sexual. I just love his personality and how funny he is.

I think what stood out to me in this series was the humour. The author writes in such a fluent way and she had me laughing out loud to so many different parts of the book. It’s dripping with sarcasm! Sometimes I find myself skip reading descriptive parts of books. I love getting to the point, reading the dialogues (which didn’t go in my favour when Prim died in the 3rd Hunger Games Book and I didn’t realise because it wasn’t in a dialogue!) but I enjoyed reading about the different dimensions, the descriptions about the Shadow Hunters home etc.

I have now purchased the Infernal Devices trilogy, which I believe Cassandra Clare wrote as a prequel. I am sure that I will love it as much as I love The Mortal Instruments and I think I may even go back to Netflix and carry on watching the series, just because I miss the characters so much.

Until next time!

Untitled

3 thoughts on “The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare | BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

