The Scrapbook Of My Life by Alfie Deyes | BOOK REVIEW

I am a huge Alfie Deyes fan. A lot of people will probably have not heard of him but he is actually quite a big part of my life. Alfie is a British YouTuber and boasts a main channel of 5 million subscribers, a daily vlogging channel of 3 million AND a gaming channel of a little over 1 million subscribers. His main channel, Pointless Blog has a whole load of challenges and funny videos. I love his daily vlogs, in which he records his life.

The Scrapbook of my life 2

Alfie recently wrote a book called The Scrapbook Of My Life. It is literally that. A book full of stories about his life before he became a YouTube star. I pre-ordered the book and managed to get a signed copy, which I was so happy about. I mean seriously, he actually touched that paper! (fan girl moment!)

The Scrapbook of my life signed

I am sad to say that the happiness ended there. In fact, I was quite disappointed with the book. Alfie mentioned it was very much a scrapbook, so the font is all different, there are spelling mistakes that have been crossed out – basically it does look like an actual scrapbook. I love that about it and I love the cover. It has such a nice glossy feel to it, plus the red and gold looks pretty cool. What I didn’t like was the style of writing. I am a huge fan, so I purchased the book because I wanted to read about his life. I want to know what he was like when he was younger and fun memories he had. Unfortunately it is written in a way that is perfect for young children. I mean, the 11-16 range. I was getting frustrated when reading it, because it just sounded so… childish!

I know that a lot of his fans are actually girls in that age group, so maybe this way of writing was aimed towards that, but I am sure there are hundreds of other people in my age bracket as well! (Any 26 year old Pointless Blog fan’s out there?!) I want to read a book that flows nicely, that has humour and a serious element. Even being a scrapbook, he could have achieved that!

Another thing that I disliked even more than the writing style, was the blank pages. Alfie left blank pages on almost every other page, where you could fill in your memories. The idea was that it meant the scrapbook would be both his and yours. Whilst I smile at the thought, I didn’t buy a book to get blank pages in it. He mentioned in his daily vlogs that he would have a few, but I didn’t realise it was literally on every other page!

I am disappointed but I should have known better. I have purchased his other book – the Pointless Book – which you fill in the blank pages – and I thought most of it was quite childish as well. Regardless, I know he worked hard on it and it is signed, so I don’t regret buying it! I would recommend this to younger girls who I know will enjoy reading it.

 

Until next time!

Untitled

Leave a Reply

