Birchbox March Review | BEAUTY

I’ve been subscribed to Glossy Box for 7 months now and have enjoyed many of the products I have received. Lately though, the boxes have been more cream focused and I really don’t like that. I have obviously heard of Birchbox, but I found that reviews were more negative compared to Glossy Box. However, I thought I should give it a go and make a decision for myself!

20160326_141310

Honestly, first impressions of the box were WOW! It’s small! The Glossy Box and My Little Box are both quite big boxes. Still, I thought it was pretty cute. Everything fit inside perfectly and the box was exactly the right size. As you can see, I received the box with an extra due to a promotion – offering a full size Bioderma Make-Up remover.

20160326_141348

I thought the design of the box was simple but effective! Reading through the magazine, they’ve hidden beauty related words on the box and you can try and find them all. Once you have, you can send a picture to their Facebook page and be entered into a prize draw! Since it’s a bit late in March, I gave it a miss, but I like the idea.

20160326_141437

So the first thing I spotted was an offer for 20% off my first purchase in the Birchbox shop. I’m not sure if I will be using it, but it is there if I really like something! The magazine is actually a talking point because I read every page! I normally hate the cards that come with the products. They barely tell you anything and most of the information inside is boring. This one however is really informative! You get the standard welcome page, then a page with information on the lip balm. The next 2 pages are all about the product information. I loved the page which shows the most searched items on their website and information about them. So far, I am loving this box!

So this is what I received.

20160326_1418073


Number 4 Lumiere d’hiver Reconstructing Masque 

RRP £36 (This was a sample)

20160326_141456

If you have been reading my blog, you will know that I am not a fan of hair masks. I simply don’t have time, with a 17 month old child, to sit around and wait for a mask to do its magic and wash it off. When I first saw this I was disappointed, but then I read the instructions. You shampoo your hair, wash it off and then apply this. You only need to leave it in for 5 minutes before rinsing it off, so I knew that I could actually use this one. The question is, does it work? The answer is yes! I am not sure exactly what it’s meant to do, but my hair smells nice and feels soft. It also looks a bit more shiny, if that makes sense. I only got one use out of it, as the sample is pretty small but I am considering purchasing the full size!


Spectrum Collections Tapered Powder Brush

RRP £7.99 (This was full size)

20160326_141522

Since discovering a beauty blending sponge, I have not really been interested in brushes. Saying that, recently I have been looking for a powder brush to set my concealer with. I was just using one of my normal eyeshadow brushes (one of the crease blending brushes) which did the trick. I am glad however that I now have a brush that is made to be used for setting make up. I haven’t heard of Spectrum before, but I like the look of the brush. The colours are pretty unique. I used it to apply powder today and found that it worked quite well. It’s quite a big brush though, so I just need to get used to it!


Rituals T’ai Chi Foaming Shower Gel

RRP £8.50 (This was travel size)

20160326_141557

I LOVE foaming shower gels. I just really like the way they feel and this one smells really good! I feel like I have used something by Rituals before – I recognise the branding and it isn’t expensive to purchase full size either. It is such a fun thing to use and feels amazing. You just spray a little bit out onto your hand and instantly it foams up. I am not joking when I say that it feels amazing and relaxing on your skin!  I can still smell it a little bit on me now and its been hours since I had a shower. I know for sure that I will be buying the full size version.


Polaar Night Cream

RRP £32 (This is travel size)

IMG_0046

Another cream. I really don’t like creams! However, for some reason, I have an open mind with this one. This is a night cream, so you just apply it onto your face and neck and then go to bed! It doesn’t require a lot of effort and I have received a hand cream from this company in another subscription box. I tried it last night and fell in love with the smell. I’m not sure how to describe it but it smells quite sweet. The consistency is quite thick but when you apply it, it just sinks straight into your skin. This morning I had a look in the mirror to see if there was a difference, but since I’m not sure what it’s actually meant to do, I didn’t really see one! Still, my skin feels softer than normal and I feel quite refreshed!


Arrow Boost Color Enhancing Lip Balm

RRP £11 (This was full size)

20160326_141725

This product was actually the thing that persuaded me to buy the Birchbox. I was quite intrigued how a lip balm is unique to the pH in each individual person. It is paraben free, cruelty free, vegan and Arrow is a Birchbox own brand. My first impression was not good, as I didn’t like the smell. It is described as minty – a scent I am not too fond of – but I applied it anyway. It was quite sticky and uncomfortable to start with and I was disappointed. However, a few minutes later it settled into my lips and left a really deep pink colour! I love how it looks and I am sure I can overlook the initial smell. This will be going into my handbag.


Model Co More Brows

RRP £13 (This was full size)

20160326_1417121

Brows have become such a big part of beauty these days and one part of my make-up routine that I usually get wrong. My eyebrows are quite full, naturally, but they have gaps in them. I therefore use brow products to fill them in and make them a bit more sharper looking. I tried this in the morning and I don’t like it! The brush is quite good and I like how it really works through all the hair but I don’t like the way it applies. It doesn’t look natural to me. I brushed through my eyebrows in the end with a spooly and still it looked like I had applied too much colour. I will try and use this again though and be a bit more patient.


Bioderma Make-up Removing Micelle Solution

RRP £10.50 (This was full size)

20160326_141827

I currently use Simple make up wipes to remove my make-up since a lot of products seem to make my skin break out. I have also had an issue with dry skin, due to using eye make up removers. I was excited to get this, as it is meant to be really good. I completely forgot to use it last night when removing my make up, but this morning I still had a bit of mascara left under my eyes. I then soaked a cotton pad with the solution and used it to clean up the residue make up. I was quite shocked to see how much make up was on the cotton pad when I was finished. I will try it again this time to remove a full face of make up and I know it will work!


 

OVERALL

This first box has 100% been worth the money. I have loved every single product and everything will be used. The only thing that didn’t work as well as I had hoped was the brow gel but everything else was perfect! I am sure that I will be purchasing at least 2 of the products in a full size version.

Until next time!

Untitled

Leave a Reply

