Degustabox March Box | REVIEW

I always see advertisements for food subscription boxes, like Degustabox and Graze. At first, I was intrigued, but didn’t really feel like I would benefit from them. I am allergic to nuts, so it’s too much of a gamble to buy a surprise box, when most healthy snacks include nuts. Last month I saw an advertisement for the Degustabox, at £4.99, rather than the normal price of £12.99. There’s no harm in trying it out hey!

20160406_111825.jpg

The first surprise was the size of the box! I honestly thought it was a small package, but the box was pretty big. Having said that, how pretty is it! I love the little sketches on the outside, and the green and white detailing on the inside.

20160406_111914.jpg

My husband said that he would “inspect” the products himself and if it was worth it, I could carry on subscribing to it. Onto the contents of the box itself:


Brioche Pasquier

Pains au Chocolat contain a generous helping of delicious creme patissiere. 

wp-1460107132421

First Impressions: I love this brand! I always buy the little bread that has chocolate chips in it. I think this is a bit different. It looks like the same bread but filled with chocolate? I was happy to see this and my husband was satisfied that I would eat this as well! Not to mention, it isn’t bad to give a little bit to my daughter as well.

Taste Test: I can’t believe I am saying this but I ate 3 in one day! They are so light and just taste so nice that I couldn’t help it. I wasn’t feeling THAT hungry but just needed something small to keep me going and they worked. I had the last one today with my daughter so these will be purchased again!


Weetabix On The Go x2

Breakfast drink with extra protein containing all the energy and fibre of a weetabix cereal.

20160406_112338

First Impressions: As soon as I saw these, I thought it would be perfect for my husband. He always has Weetabix for breakfast but sometimes he is late for work and leaves without eating anything. These protein drinks should be enough for him to feel energised and have had breakfast on the go!

Taste Test: Since I don’t like Weetabix, my husband tried these out in the morning. He said it was quite a weird taste. You can’t taste any weetabix in it and it’s quite smooth. It is literally a protein drink. He did say that he would not buy it again as the taste was not amazing.


a2 Milk

Pure cows milk that contains only the easy to digest A2 protein.

20160406_112409

First Impressions: I really did not expect milk! I have also never heard of this milk before but apparently it is digests better than supermarket milk. I will have to try it with cereal if I remember. The only thing with milk is that you have to use it quick, otherwise it goes off.

Taste Test: I tried to test this out but realised it was skimmed milk. I like full fat milk which is quite heavy in consistency. This was really light and smelt/looked like red milk! It would have been water if not for the colour. This will not be purchased again.


Metcalfe’s Skinny Popcorn

Sweetened with natural stevia leaf extract, this popcorn has 67% less sugar than all other varieties.

20160406_112310

First Impressions: I have never heard of skinny popcorn, but my husband has! He said it was quite a decent sized packet and this popcorn is better for you than the average Butterkist.


Kent’s Kitchen Apricot Stuffing

Tasty addition to a roast dinner. Made with all natural ingredients and chunky pieces of fruit, herbs and spices.

First Impressions: Interesting but I don’t like stuffing. At first, I thought it was cereal, which funnily enough, my husband thought the same. After looking at the leaflet, realised it was stuffing. I don’t make roast dinners, but my mother in law does and I normally don’t like it. You would normally serve it with pork, I think and I don’t eat pork.

Taste Test: Seeing as you can’t really taste this unless you cook it, I can’t comment much. I am however sure that I will be passing this onto my mother in law, as she will use it! Clearly we won’t be purchasing it again!


Chewits x4

An iconic British confectionery brand that has been around for 50 years.

20160406_112104

First Impressions: I was confused to see Chewits in the box, as I haven’t eaten them in so long. Now normally I would be very happy as these are one of the few chewy sweets that I really enjoy. My only disappointment is the flavour. I don’t mind the strawberry but the blackcurrant is awful. In fact, my favourite is the fruit salad flavour! (Yellow packet?) I am sure that we will eat these quickly though.

Taste Test: Chewits are so addictive once you get going. I ate 2 packets on my own, last night. I know. It’s crazy. They taste amazing but they are so sticky. One thing I used to hate with Chewits when I was younger, was that sometimes the sweet stuck to the paper. You would have to get your hands dirty to take the paper off or just eat it with some paper stuck to it! One of the packets was completely like this so that was not fun. I won’t buy these again as they are NOT good for you, plus they are not the flavours I would buy anyway.


Parle Hide & Seek

India’s best moulded chocolate chip biscuits.

20160406_112140

First Impressions: I did think that these biscuits were from India, as they are packaged in the same way as biscuits in Pakistan! I am not a fan of biscuits, but my husband was happy because he loves biscuits with tea, ESPECIALLY if they are chocolate!

Taste Test: He did eat quite a few but said that they were quite bland. The biscuits are also quite small and square shaped. There are enough chocolate chips in them, but they have an odd, bland kind of taste to them!


Parle Monaco

Light, crispy biscuit sprinkled with salt

20160406_112153

First Impressions: Definetely not my kind of thing. I am not really a fan of biscuits. I mean, I will eat them when I have a cup of tea, but usually I prefer custard creams or Jammy Dodgers. Something with a filling! I also do not like salt. The husband was more than happy to try these out!

Taste Test: The verdict is, they taste pretty much like cheese on crackers. When you look at the picture on the packet, they do look a little bit like Ritz crackers! He said they weren’t amazing so we won’t be purchasing it again.


Pipers Crisps

Locally sourced potatoes, cooked in sunflower oil and seasoned with flavours sourced from passionate regional suppliers.

20160406_112356

First Impressions:I find crisps perfect to snack on, even though I know that they are not really that good for you. Still, big packet crisps such as Pipers are still better than the mass produced ones, right? My husband was happy to see this, as he loves high quality crisps! I think they are cheese and onion, which is not my favourite flavour, but I won’t say no.

Taste Test: You can’t deny that these are good quality crisps, however, I think I prefer the cheaper packs. I am not a fan of a HUGE amount of flavour and these crisps are packed with cheese and onion flavouring. At first it tastes amazing, but after a few, I started feeling like I needed to eat something else to get that strong taste out of my mouth! Even though the husband enjoyed eating these, I don’t think we will be purchasing them again.


Lindt

Lindt white chocolate gold bunny, made by the Lindt Master Chocolatiers. 

20160406_112120

First Impressions: Well, Easter is over so the gold bunny is not that interesting! However, who can say no to chocolate? I actually don’t like white chocolate, so this will be a little treat for my daughter. It is quite a big sized bunny as well!


Kallo Quinoa and Seeds Multigrain Cakes

Multigrain cakes with sunflow, sesame and pumpkin seeds.

20160406_112045

First Impressions: I have heard of Quinoa before, from all the healthy YouTuber’s out there, but I don’t really know if I want to try it. I mean, it’s all seeds! When my husband saw this, he thought it would be good as a snack or to have as breakfast, even though the leaflet advises that these cakes are really good as a light lunch.


Kallo Milk Chocolate Rice Cake Rounds

Smooth belgian chocolate and puffed wholegrain rice.

20160406_112013

First Impressions: I don’t like rice cakes. I don’t know why, but the look and feel of them really makes me feel sick. This would be something that my husband would be happy to eat or even my daughter. Even the fact that they have chocolate on them, doesn’t make me want to eat it!


Karyatis Meze To Go

A delicious sweet & smokey roasted red pepper and tangy feta dip, perfectly complimented by crunchy rosemary crackers.

20160406_112322

First Impressions: I’ve only recently became interested in Greek/Turkish food, both which do amazing Meze’s. When I saw this in the box, I was VERY excited. My husband reacted the same way, as it’s something we always order when eating at a Greek or Turkish restaurant.


 

OVERALL

Even though there was quite a variety in the box, with some things that I have never heard of and others that I normally would never buy, I have decided to cancel the subscription. At the offer price of £4.99, I would happily get another box, but at £12.99, it is too much to get products that you are not sure you would like.

After totalling up the cost of each product, this box came up to £20.89. It was good value for money, but there were quite a lot of products that we didn’t really like, so I don’t think it is much of a saving! I think in the end, the only thing I know I will purchase would be the Brioche Pasquier.

This box isn’t for us, but hopefully this review did help someone who might be thinking about subscribing!

Until next time!

Untitled

Leave a Reply

