Birchbox May Review | BEAUTY

Out of all the beauty subscription boxes I receive, Birchbox was the one I was most excited for. I have only been subscribed for 3 months but so far it still has had the best products – both value wise and preference wise. Good things to come to an end, as I found out with the May box.

Before I get into more detail, this month’s actual box design was quite cool. You could scratch off the top with a coin (like a scratch card!) and underneath is the design. On top of that, there was a competition. If you found words underneath, you could win a holiday. Unfortunately, I didn’t win, but with only 2 boxes containing the prize, it was slim chances! (In my haste, I forgot to take a picture of the box before I scratched it all off!)

wp-1462808234621

The magazine was interesting once again. There was information regarding how to use one of the products, full details on the contents of the box, information regarding the competition and products that the staff really enjoy.

wp-1462808242383

So this is what I received in the box:

20160509_155205


Spectrum Collections Sponge

RRP £4.99 (this is full size)

20160509_154326

This was the only product I knew that was included in the box and it met my expectations. I have recently been loving beauty blenders and was actually going to buy one before I saw the email from Birchbox. It’s a pretty cool colour, but that’s a given as it’s a Spectrum product. I am quite happy with it. You would think that all beauty blenders are the same, but this one is so much better than the ones I have used before. It cleans so well, it applies concealer so well and the general shape is better. Really happy with this product.


Philip Kingsley PK Prep Polishing Balm

RRP £18.50 (sample size)

20160509_154350

This is quite an intriguing product. At first, I thought it was a cream but then after reading the information on the card, saw that it was actually for your hair. You basically apply it on fly away hair and dry ends to smooth it down. The thing I love the best about this is that it can be applied on damp or dry hair, meaning it is so much easier to use! I’m not sure if I was meant to get two of them, but they are exactly the same thing.


Vasanti Brighten Up! Face Rejuvenator

RRP £26 (this is sample size)

20160509_154357

I honestly hate getting creams in boxes, especially ones for the face. Even more so, I hate them because 9 times out of 10, they contain nuts. Sure enough, this product has coconut in it and since I am allergic, I won’t be able to use it. It’s a pity as it sounds like a really good product. All you do is wet your face, apply this and massage in a circular motion and then rinse it off. It is meant to be used after cleansing and just seemed like a good product.


theBalm cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen

RRP £10 (this is a sample size)

20160509_154408

I am not a fan of lip/cheek stains as I just find that they don’t work. I received one in my very first Glossy Box and it didn’t do anything. I was quite intrigued by this one, as it’s from theBalm cosmetics and their products are amazing. I thought I would give it a try and see what happens. I applied it on my lips first and saw that it faded away. I thought that maybe this is meant to happen, so I finished the rest of my make up and had a look at my lips at the end – no difference. Maybe I am applying it wrong, but this product will not be used again.


Puriskin Resurfacing Cream

RRP £13.99 (sample size)

20160509_154517

Another cream and sure enough, another product containing coconut. Again, this product looked quite interesting. It is a calming cream that will soothe the complexion. You are meant to apply it on dry skin, blemishes, etc. I have had a lot of dry skin lately so this would have been great but I cannot use it, due to the ingredients.


Vita Coco Coconut Oil

RRP £9.99

20160509_154532You seriously cannot make up my bad luck with this month’s box! This was an extra product that they added to the box, but will you look at that. Pure coconut oil.


OVERALL

I really lost money with this month’s box. 3 products contained coconut and 1 didn’t work for me. I guess the hair polishing balm will be used but even that is a sample size. The only product I absolutely loved was the sponge and that was £4.99, so I overpaid for the box.

I am aware that coconut is really good for the skin and hair. I know that so many companies use it in their products because it is actually good for you. I am just irritated with the fact that Birchbox will not cater to allergies. They claim that it’s difficult with the mass produced boxes, but come on. If you know 10 people are allergic to coconut, it is not difficult to add products to their box that don’t contain it.

I mean, in the beauty profiles, you advise your skin type and colour. If they can sort between that, why can’t they add allergies to the list?

Anyway, rant over. I will have to see what the next box brings. Sometimes you do get a box that isn’t worth it and the last 2 boxes from Birchbox were really good, so I will give it another try.

Until next time!

Untitled

 

3 thoughts on “Birchbox May Review | BEAUTY

Leave a Reply

