May Favourites! | FAVOURITES

BABY

Table and Chairs

This particular purchase was made a few months ago, but it was not really used as much as it is now, so I had to mention it. I purchased this table and chairs set from Argos for around £40. At the time, I thought it was crazy money to spend on something that might not be used, but I should not have worried. E uses this every single day. She prefers to eat breakfast and have a snack on her own little chair. She likes to play with her toys, flick through a book or watch TV here, so it was so worth the money. It came flat packed and I built it myself (proud mummy moment) but it was very easy to assemble. The design of the chairs are so cute and the main reason I purchased this particular set!

2016-05-30 09.20.00


MAKEUP

Spectrum Wonder Sponge

I feel like I have actually mentioned this in a favourites before, but even so, I will again. I have had a few beauty blending sponges in the last few months and I have to say that this one is the best. The colour is amazing – not that  it makes a difference in the use of the product! I just love how bright it is and Spectrum are known for that. This sponge is so easy to use. When it’s wet, it puffs up pretty big and you can also use it dry. Even though it’s a big sponge, it’s quite flexible, so I can use it in every angle on my face. The best thing about it, is that it is so easy to clean. I use the same technique that I use with my make-up brushes and find that it doesn’t take as long as the other sponges do. I love it and I am sure it will be a favourite for a while!

20160509_154326

L’Oreal Infallible Matte Max Lipstick

I spotted these on an innocent trip to Boots early on in the month. The design of the lipstick looked quite interesting and different so I had to purchase it. Also, they were on 3 for 2, so that is always a bargain right? I purchased a nude, pink and red but out of all 3, my favourite HAD to be the nude. On its own, it is far too dull for my skin colour. It makes my lips disappear as my skin is more on the brown side. However, if I apply a dark lipstick and then use this on top, the result is beautiful. I have tried with deep purples and bright pinks. Both colours normally don’t suit me, but with this lipstick on top, I love the result. Another thing I really like is the applicator and the fact that the product is actually in the lid!

theBalm cosmetics Meet Matte Liquid Lipstick

I have never purchased anything from theBalm cosmetics before, but obviously I know who they are. My sister was clearing out her lipsticks and gave this one to me. I only ever really wear red when I am going out to a dinner or something fancy, so I only wore it this month for the first time. I am in LOVE. The application is the easiest I have ever had, with a red lipstick. It smooths on the lips, doesn’t budge, does not crack, does not bleed. I was so impressed that I purchased all the other colours in the range as well. AMAZING product that you can barely feel on your lips.

2016-05-30 09.18.22

Revlon Colour Burst

I know these have been around for a while, but I have only become interested recently. Both Louise and Meg on YouTube showed these in a favourites video a while ago, so I thought I should purchase one and see how it goes. I fell in love immediately. The colour applies beautifully. It stays on and best of all, it leaves your lips feeling really hydrated. As you can see, I have every colour now.

2016-05-30 09.19.17


SKINCARE

Polaar Night Cream

I have been using this cream for the whole month and at first, I didn’t really know what it was doing. The only thing I did notice was that my skin actually smelt really nice and felt a lot smoother. Recently though, I have had dry patches under my eyes, so I have stopped using this cream to see if it is causing the reaction.

2016-05-30 09.15.06

Benefit Hello Flawless

I don’t ever wear foundation, but recently I have felt that at events such as parties and nights out, foundation just makes your make up look so much more put together! I searched high and low for the right one, but nothing stood out. Then I visited the Benefit counter and a lovely lady tried out this particular one. I loved the effect straight away and purchased it on the spot. When wearing it, it does not feel like I am wearing foundation and it stays put for the day. Although it is not something I will use every day, for the days that I am going to a special event, I will definitely be wearing this!

2016-05-30 09.15.19

Benefit The Pore fessional

This month I have really been taking more care with my skin and have started using a primer to help smooth out my make up. I think Benefit is quite expensive but I tried a sample of the pore fessional and my skin was ridiculously smooth. I now use it every day underneath my make up.

2016-05-30 09.14.46

Bioderma Make Up Remover

My make-up removing routine has changed constantly, since I have been wearing make-up. I have tried everything and ended up changing and trying something new again. When I subscribed to Birchbox a few months ago, they sent a full size Bioderma Micellar Water make up remover. I was stupid enough to think it was water, but it isn’t! Whatever it is, it removes my make up in the most gentle way. My face always feels clean and doesn’t feel like I’ve scrubbed it bare. The only thing I would say is a negative, is that it doesn’t always fully remove my mascara. Regardless, I have been using it every night so it is a huge favourite this month!

20160326_141827


Homeware

Hangsun LED Cosmetic Mirror

I have a mirror on my dressing table, but it’s far too big for me to really do my make-up in. I then started using a table mirror, but it was too tall. I was watching a YouTube video by Kaushal and she had purchased an LED Travel mirror. It looked pretty cool so I shopped around and found a cheaper, similar looking mirror. I absolutely love it. It is the same size as an iPad mini and actually looks like it too! The best thing about the mirror is that it rotates, so I can apply my make up perfectly.

2016-05-30 09.16.04

Birchbox Rifle Paper Co Edition

This is a bit of an odd favourite, but I absolutely loved this Birchbox design. Normally, I try and use my boxes for storage but I had to keep this one on display because of the design. It has a floral illustration and the company that made the box is called Rifle Paper Co. I use it to store my Tanya Burr Brow Palette and the setting powders as well. I just love how it looks sitting on my dressing table.

20160408_184827 (2).jpg

Primark Summer Rain and Forest Berries Candle

I’ve recently become very interested in candles and had to purchase some in Primark. I wasn’t too sure when I first saw it and the smell was also quite strong. I am a fan of more subtle candles. However I shouldn’t have worried as I have almost finished it. The smell is amazing. It smells like berries – fresh, sweet and clean – all at the same time! I think the colour of the candle is quite cute and I am very excited for the candle to finish, so that I can use the jar for something!

2016-05-30 09.17.37


TV

 

Peaky Blinders

EVERYONE is watching Peaky Blinders at the moment. It is such an intriguing show, on Netflix. It is about a gang called Peaky Blinders, who are based in Birmingham and is set after the first world war. It sounds really old fashioned and obviously it is, but you barely notice it after a while. The acting is amazing, the story lines are so captivating and I am completely hooked onto it. I will be honest – my husband and I started watching it together but after the first episode I couldn’t sit through another. He watched it by himself, but then I would catch up on episodes here in there. I eventually started watching it again with him and it really is worth the time!

2880402E-CA5A-C448-281C1A777DAF3B3C

5 thoughts on “May Favourites! | FAVOURITES

Leave a Reply

