Birchbox June Review | BEAUTY

I only received an email this morning to advise that the Birchbox had been despatched and to expect it this week. I did not think I would get it later this afternoon! I do love that about Birchbox as delivery is quite fast. This month was all about the summer. I think the box is pretty cute! It has palm trees on the front and after reading up in the leaflet, there was a pineapple design as well.

2016-06-06 16.09.38

I was VERY surprised to see that rather than the usual box, this month, the box is a keepsake drawer! I LOVE it. These types of things just always come in handy and I know this is going on my dressing table for sure. We received an email last month to ask whether we wanted to upgrade the June box to include a pair of sunglasses. I am serious when I tell you that I contemplated it for DAYS. I really needed sunglasses and the price that Birchbox was offering, was quite reasonable. Still, I decided not to upgrade. With sunglasses, you need to try them on, to see how they look.

Anyway, this is what I received in the June box:

2016-06-06 16.16.38


Percy & Reed Firm Session Hold Hairspray

RRP £12 (sample size)

2016-06-06 16.11.11

I was actually looking to purchase a hairspray that would hold in different hairstyles. This might have to be placed on hold before I can use it, as I have recently cut my hair short! Most of the hairstyles that I would like to use a hairspray on would be a bun, a top knot or a plait. Unfortunately my hair is too short to do any of those on! Still, I don’t mind getting this as it is a useful product!

*UPDATE* I have now used this hairspray. Even though my hair is short, I have a section at the front which was accidentally cut too short, about 6 months ago. I always have to either pin it back or hairspray it, if I have my hair up. I tried this hairspray out the other day and was quite happy with the results. It sticks the hair into place in a firm hold. There are no white bits left in your hair and it doesn’t feel sticky. I especially love the smell!


Amika Nourishing Mask

RRP £19.99  (sample size)

2016-06-06 16.11.30

I don’t mind hair masks that don’t need to be in for a long time. This one does look good and only needs to be in the hair for around 5 minutes. It is meant to be good for dry hair and split ends. I think I will save this for another time, as I recently got my hair cut and it is in a good condition. I am happy with this as there are no ingredients I need to stay away from, so I can use it. Also, it is a sample size, but I feel like I could get a few uses out of it.


Paula’s Choice Daily Mattifying Fluid

RRP £29 (sample size)

2016-06-06 16.11.50

Subscription boxes always have to include creams. This one is perfect for the summer because it protects the skin against UVA and UVB rays as well. Also, you don’t need to wear primer as this is a good make-up base. I am intrigued by this product, but as it is a sunscreen, I think I will wait until I go on holiday to use it. As far as creams go, this isn’t a bad one to include.


Yes To Cucumber Facial Wipes

RRP £4.99 (sample size)

2016-06-06 16.12.13

I used to use the Simple facial wipes to remove make-up and cleanse, but suffered with dry skin as a result. After that, I don’t use wipes on my face unless I feel incredibly lazy. There is no harm in trying this out though, as it is meant to be for sensitive skin. The claim of instantly removing make up is pretty big so I will have to try this out and see if that is true.

*UPDATE* I have now tried out these wipes and unfortunately they are not for me. Firstly, the back of the packet tells you to avoid your eyes. If you can’t use them near your eyes, they can’t be for removing make up? Even for the rest of my face, it didn’t really work. I liked the smell and I liked the way my skin felt but an hour or so later, my skin started to feel a bit hot, as if it had been scrubbed too much? Maybe it just didn’t suit my skin. I will probably keep the packet though, as I can use to wipe down the handles of my make up brushes and my hands once I have done my make up!


Jelly Pong Pong Lighten Up Brightener + Waterliner

RRP £14.95 (full size)

2016-06-06 16.12.33

I was genuinely looking to purchase a waterliner – literally this morning. I am VERY HAPPY to get this, even though I don’t know if it will work or not. In all honestly, I have not had a good experience with Jelly Pong Pong. I received a mascara from them, in my first Glossy Box and hated it. Still, you can’t knock a product until you try it! I will say though, no matter how good it is, I would not pay £14.95 for an eye pencil! Seriously, it had better be amazing.

*UPDATE* So I tried out the eyeliner and it does work. The staying power is not amazing but it does open up the eyes and makes me look more awake. The formula is not that great. I expected it to be a bit more creamy? It was a little… flaky. Still, it’s better than the mascara and I will use it.


OVERALL

At first I was disappointed BUT upon review, this box is actually quite good. I will be able to use every single product this time and 2 of them were things I was already looking to buy.

Aside from this, I was reading the leaflet and on the back, there was a sneak peek of July’s box. Firstly, it’s a collaboration with Millie Mackintosh (Made in Chelsea, OMG!) Secondly, there will be a full size LOC lip pencil included. I am quite excited for next month already. Also, next month I will have enough Birchbox points to purchase something from the shop as well.

Until next time!

Untitled

2 thoughts on “Birchbox June Review | BEAUTY

Leave a Reply

