My Thoughts: Podcast with Alfie Deyes and True Geordie

This time around, I made a promise to myself that I would only blog when I am inspired or passionate about something. Since watching the podcast where True Geordie interviews Alfie Deyes aka Pointless Blog, I have had a lot of thoughts running through my head and I wanted to share them.

I had never heard of True Geordie before watching the video podcast so I can’t tell you anything about him other than the fact that he interviews a lot of YouTubers and has said many hateful comments about Alfie in particular. It was almost a 3 hour podcast and even though I do love all things Alfie, I am actually quite surprised that I watched it all! They mainly spoke about him, his life, how and why people dislike him and his opinions on taboo subjects regarding certain YouTubers etc.

I felt a variety of emotions through those 3 hours. Firstly, I felt quite defensive. A lot of people don’t like Alfie, and that’s fine. His content is not everyone’s cup of tea, but how can you dislike somebody without even knowing him? Alfie’s fans or followers feel like they do know him because they have watched him for x amount of years. That is what makes him and other daily vloggers different from your average celebrity. I sometimes stop and think, how can I – and I am nearly 28 years old – enjoy watching a 24 year old man just living out his life, on YouTube. It does sound a little odd! However, it’s not even the content I enjoy. It’s Alfie, his personality and how he treats other people that draws me in. I have been watching for almost 4 years and I’ve gone back to watch every single video he has posted on YouTube. I’ve been watching him for so long, that what seems like a 2 minute clip on him shopping in Waitrose is more than just that for me. For me, that small clip is about him making more healthy choices with his food and cooking more.

Within the podcast, they talked about child exploitation and more quality content. They kept pushing and digging at Alfie, that surely, with 11 million subscribers across all his channels, he should be making more quality content. He should be travelling across the world and making arty footage, rather than chilling on the sofa at home or going into town. It sounds all well and good but I don’t want to watch that! If I wanted to watch arty footage, I would watch The Michelaks (whom I do love). I watch Alfie, because I want to watch what he has been up to in the day and what he’s been up to with Zoe. Actually, a huge part of watching Alfie has been to do with his girlfriend Zoe aka Zoella. I think she is amazing and she doesn’t vlog as much, so it’s always good to see her in the vlogs.

The  other point was child exploitation. He doesn’t have any children yet but True Geordie name dropped the SacconeJoly’s and said how sick it made him that they exploited their children for views. I then started reading the comments on the video – which seriously annoys me, by the way! I don’t know why I read them – and so many people were slagging off the SacconeJoly’s. If you don’t know who they are, they are an Irish family. Married couple Jonathan and Anna, their 3 children and 5 dogs! They film vlogs every single day, around 15 minutes long. I also love them. I COMPLETELY disagree with the fact that they exploit children! They are loving parents and their vlogs started WAY before they had kids! Jonathan is a very creative man and loves to film arty footage and tell a story. Anna is so down to earth and their kids are honestly so kind and caring. The only way children can have traits like that, is if there parents teach them.

I have to be honest, I have learnt so much about parenting from this family. I am sure they have bad days, but I love how they discipline their children. I love how they spend so much time with them. Yes, they do earn a lot of money, but that money is then used on the kids. If I could do that for my daughter, I 100% would.

Anyway, I clearly feel quite passionate about this particular subject and people should speak out about it. Let these talented people vlog, so we can live vicariously through them! What Alfie does is actually quite achievable and he shows that if you put your heart and head into something, you can do it!

b06ff857de489bbb42fa4eab7791513f--smile-quotes-happy-quotes

Leave a Reply

